The UNWTO has hailed a 5-day visa-free policy decision by Belarus to citizens of 80 states. 

The Government of Belarus is launching a 5-day visa-free policy that will be applicable to travellers from 80 countries. The measure aims at advancing seamless travel and attracting visitors, particularly those on business trip

The decision by the Government of Belarus was made as a means to stimulate tourism development. The decision introduces visa-free entry at the Minsk National Airport and visa-free stay in Belarus for up to five days for the citizens of 80 states. Among those, there are 39 countries of Europe, including the entire European Union, Brazil, Indonesia, the USA and Japan.

“Visa facilitation is among the most effective strategies to induce tourism development in a region or in a country, so we are sure that the tourism sector will experience a positive shift in Belarus,” said UNWTO Secretary General, Taleb Rifai.

The promotion of seamless travel is one of UNWTO’s priorities, considering the proven capacity of visa facilitation to stimulate economic growth and job creation through tourism.

Belarus started policies to simplify the visa process in April 2016.

photo: By alinco_fan – panoramio, CC BY 3.0,